Art Gallery of Alberta

For Immediate Release
June 18, 2014

42 artists from across the province to be featured in 2015 Alberta Biennial of Contemporary Art

Edmonton, AB (June 18, 2014) – The Art Gallery of Alberta (AGA) is excited to announce the names of 42 artists who are selected for inclusion in the 2015 Alberta Biennial of Contemporary Art, to be presented January 24-May 3, 2015.

The artists include:

Arbour Lake Sghool, Calgary
Ashleigh Bartlett, Calgary
Kyle Beal, Calgary
Brittney Bear Hat, Calgary
Devon Beggs, Edmonton
Nika Blasser, Edmonton
Christian Bök, Calgary
Steven Cottingham, Calgary
Hannah Doerksen, Calgary
Joseph Doherty, Edmonton
Brenda Draney, Edmonton
Gordon Ferguson, Calgary
Jason Frizzell, Red Deer
Sarah Fuller, Banff
Jude Griebel, Sundre
Aryen Hoekstra, Edmonton
Dara Humniski, Edmonton
Mary Kavanagh, Lethbridge
Kristen Keegan, Edmonton
Robin Lambert, High Prairie
Mathieu Lefèvre, Edmonton
Tyler Los-Jones, Calgary
Amy Malbeuf, Rich Lake
Travis McEwen, Edmonton
Brendan McGillicuddy, Calgary
Jay Mosher, Calgary
Yvonne Mullock, Calgary
Wil Murray, Calgary
Brad Necyk, St. Albert
Ali Nickerson, Edmonton
Erik Osberg, Edmonton
Josée Aubin Ouellette, Edmonton
Giulliano Palladino, Edmonton
Evan Prosofsky, Edmonton
Scott Rogers, Calgary
Erin Schwab, Fort McMurray
Sergio Serrano, Edmonton
Leslie Sharpe, Edmonton
Jill Stanton, Edmonton
Alma Louise Visscher, Edmonton
Adam Waldron-Blain, Edmonton
Nicole Kelly Westman, Red Deer

Entitled Future Station, the 2015 Alberta Biennial of Contemporary Art is an examination of the creative practices at work with Alberta artists and ultimately an expression on what it feels like to be an artist in Alberta. The title is derived from an abandoned transit platform located under the civic centre of the province’s capital, Edmonton. The themes of the 2015 Biennial include: psychology as a creative methodology and means to audience effect, natural forces confronting the artist, detritus as a working material and austerity as an aesthetic.

“As our province’s oldest cultural institution, the AGA plays a key role in supporting and sharing work by Alberta artists. We are excited to present this next iteration of the Alberta Biennial of Contemporary Art, which gives visitors a look into the dynamic future of art in our province,” said Kristy Trinier, Curator, AGA. “After conducting studio visits across all regions in Alberta, there was a general consensus from my discussions with artists: Alberta seeps into your lexicon as an artist and manifests in the work; now my work is to articulate this as the exhibition.”

The exhibition will be presented in three spaces of the Art Gallery of Alberta, Enterprise Square Galleries and will include off-site installations. Since 1996, the Art Gallery of Alberta has presented the Alberta Biennial as a survey of contemporary art from across the province.

Future Station: 2015 Alberta Biennial of Contemporary Art is curated by Kristy Trinier and organized by the Art Gallery of Alberta.

Media contact:
Oksana Gowin, Director of Marketing and Communications
T: 780.392.2466

The Art Gallery of Alberta is a centre of excellence for the visual arts in Western Canada, connecting people, art and ideas. The AGA is focused on the development and presentation of original exhibitions of contemporary and historical art from Alberta, Canada and around the world. The AGA also offers a full-range of art education and public programs. Founded in 1924, the Art Gallery of Alberta maintains a collection of more than 6,000 objects and is the oldest cultural institution in Alberta. It is the only museum in the province solely dedicated to the exhibition and preservation of art and visual culture.

The Art Gallery of Alberta is a not-for-profit organization that relies on the support of its Members, donors, sponsors and government. The AGA is grateful for the generous support of the many public and private donors and sponsors who have made the AGA’s New Vision possible, as well as the ongoing support of the City of Edmonton, the Edmonton Arts Council, the Alberta Foundation for the Arts, the Canada Council for the Arts and our Members.